Skip to content

Blog Post #3

As I worked to construct my tree I struggled to find a way to embellish the branches. I wanted a delicate and detailed leaf effect but couldn’t figure out how to hand construct leaves out of clay and attach them to the rapidly drying branches. When I explained my problem to Ms. A she offered the idea of piping slip onto my tree branches. This was a new technique she introduced me to, and to do so she had to refine the slip to make it thinner and give it a more consistent texture, allowing it to be squeezed through a small opening when applying it to the branches. I also had to solve problems because the branches had to be stored in a large box once I started piping on the slip, so the bag didn’t mess up the leaves that needed to dry. When I stored it in the box, the branches dried out very fast. Consequently I had to constantly work to ensure they were wet enough to still pipe on more leaves. Overall I am very happy with how the tree turned out once fired. I look forward to using this piping technique again when I need to execute minute and delicate details.

Published inUncategorized

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar